News:

Due to a technical issue, some recently uploaded pictures have been lost. We are investigating why this happened but the issue has been resolved so that future uploads should be safe.  You can also Modify your post (MORE...) and re-upload the pictures in your post.

Main Menu

1939 LaSalle restoration and modification.

Started by Derek, June 20, 2012, 01:54:25 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Derek

Hi, I'm new here and I'm just learning, so please bear with me.

I guess I should start with a little bit about me. I'm a 16 year old who has grown up around cars and I love them. I'm not on of those people who dislikes certain types of cars, I appreciate all cars, and this car will have influences of other car cultures too. It is going to be just by day and I, with help on stuff we can't do. But onto the car.

The car belonged to my grandfather, he got it in Vermont and brought it up to Oshawa, ON, where it sat it his backyard for about 50 years. After he passed away they stayed right where it is along with the others (1927 Nash, 1929 Chevy, !960s Buick.) The LaSalle and the Nash were in the best shape. The only problem is that my grandfather tried to fix the car but gave up so the motor and front end sat exposed to the harsh Canadian elements for ten plus years. The original V8 is now in parts and the pistons are seemingly fused with the block. We would like to get it running eventually but for the mean time were just going to swap a different motor in.

The biggest problem right now is getting the front end back together because when grandfather took it apart he must have just reefed on it because almost every panel is bent or warped so I have been trying to straighten the the best I can. We also think we are missing the part that attaches the hood to the lift mechanism.