News:

Due to a technical issue, some recently uploaded pictures have been lost. We are investigating why this happened but the issue has been resolved so that future uploads should be safe.  You can also Modify your post (MORE...) and re-upload the pictures in your post.

Main Menu

Newbie Advice

Started by Brubaker, October 22, 2017, 10:31:09 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Brubaker

Newbie here . . . new to CLC and in the market for my FIRST Cadillac!  Although I have admired "classic" Cadillacs for years.  I want a 1969 or 1970 DeVille Convertible.  What advice would anyone care to share on what to look for . . . or what to look-out for?  I have been following various auctions and looking at several classic-car-sales venues, but the results seem erratic to me, and I feel lost as to what $$ to offer that would be "fair" to both the seller and myself.  Any advice appreciated.  Thanks in advance.

gary griffin

Hi Newbie,

You are asking an almost impossible question that needs clarification prior to a valid answer.

Daily driver or Parade car or between?

Where are you? Can you travel to buy a car? If not able to travel and drive home figure shipping into your price

Are you willing to take a risk on eBay? With enough pictures and seller having multiple sales with no problems I have taken a few risks with no surprises.

Can you check a car out mechanically? If not will you be having professional inspection??

A few times I have flown to look at the car prior to deciding to buy. Always a good choice in my opinion. Costs less than any major repairs would!

It is almost always best to buy the best car you find. Fixing or restoring a car always takes longer and costs more than expected.

I am sure you will get additional advice from others on the forum.  Most sellers are honest but many do not know their cars as well as you or a professional inspector would.

Good Luck!!

Gary Griffin

1940 LaSalle 5029 4 door convertible sedan