News:

Due to a technical issue, some recently uploaded pictures have been lost. We are investigating why this happened but the issue has been resolved so that future uploads should be safe.  You can also Modify your post (MORE...) and re-upload the pictures in your post.

Main Menu

Backfire help 56 SDV

Started by Bruce L. Wiley, January 05, 2005, 01:17:35 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Bruce L. Wiley

I have new plugs, wires, points, condenser, cap, rotor, and coil. Plugs set at 35, points at @30 dwell, timing set at @2.5. The engine still has a slight miss and backfires. Any help!?!?!?

Johan 158

Hello Bruce,
Although Im not an expert on 56,I assume you made all your repairs, because off the miss fire. Check the following please,
compression and loading time of this compression, on all cilinders, loading time gives you an indication of the cam condition, it should be almost the same on all cilinders.
Also a small leak on an intake valve will cause the problems you have for sure.
Check your valve position (overlapping)  against the actual position of the piston/crank,your timing chain may have lenghtened or a cam lobe (intake) has flattened.Also a lean mixture due to a vacuum leak may cause miss firing some times back fire.Also have a look for
opening height and time of your valves.All this, if the simple solutions do not work,random order, if you wish. Good luck.

Bruce L. Wiley

Thank you. I will try that and let you know how it turns out.

Porter

"Vacuum Gauge Use

Connect vacuum gauge to base of carburetor to full vacuum source at idle. Then monitor your readings and compare readings to chart below.  
1-Steady gauge reading from 17-22 indicates normal engine in good condition.

2-A intermittent fluctuation at idle indicates a ignition miss or sticking valves.

3-Needle fluctuates as you increase engine speed indicates ignition miss, blown head gasket, leaking valve or weak valve springs.