News:

Reminder to CLC members, please make sure that your CLC number is stored in the relevant field in your forum profile. This is important for the upcoming change to the Forums access, More information can be found at the top of the General Discussion forum. To view or edit your profile details, click on your username, at the top of any forum page. Your username only appears when you are signed in.

Main Menu

Recent posts

General Discussion / Re: Goodbye & thanks.
Last post by MultipleCaddies - Today at 01:00:52 PM
Quote from: Big Fins on Today at 12:50:14 PMIs there a show of hands as to how many of you really have the knowledge as what the costs are for running a site this size? Every post, every picture uses a little bandwidth. With the size of this forum, the costs of the hosting, the forum provider and the costs of maintaining it are brutal.

I have no knowledge of the costs for this place, but it has to run anywhere from $300-$500 per month. The hosting and server costs are out of this world. Even for my little corner of the Internet, we pay a couple of hundred a year and then get in there and clean out dead posts and pictures, just so I don't have to beg and plead for a few bucks to keep the show on the road. I have some generous members who have no issues in keeping it up and as long as I can, I will. The forum software is free, the 'webmaster' works pro-bono and the mods really don't have to do anything because we all act accordingly.

Donating $25/yr for the information garnered here can't be beat. If you don't want to support the club, what else can be said but, Seeee Yaaa. Do the math. $0.068 cents per day. Yet you'll spend $100 for a crappy meal in a restaurant. I don't understand your way of thinking.

Every person who makes this "meals vs. forum support" argument totally misses the point.