News:

Due to a technical issue, some recently uploaded pictures have been lost. We are investigating why this happened but the issue has been resolved so that future uploads should be safe.  You can also Modify your post (MORE...) and re-upload the pictures in your post.

Main Menu

1976 500 ci engine

Started by Trees36, May 02, 2017, 09:40:37 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Trees36

I am looking at a 1966 Eldorado .  The original engine apparently failed and the owner had a 500 ci engine from a 1976 Eldorado .  That newer engine is stock , not fuel injected.  From what i can find on line, the 500 ci engine in 1976 generated all of 190 Hp vs the 340 hp of the original  1966 429 ci engine.  That is a 150  hp reduction.  Am i missing something; wont this car perform like a slug?  secondly, how big a job would it be to modify the engine to get back above 300 or so HP? .  As a mechanic, I might be a 2 on a 1 to 10 scale.  In short, I am in no way capable or knowledgeable  about Cadillac engines.

I just wonder why you would make that switch ( you do get electronic ignition and an 8.5 compression ratio for cheaper pump gas, i guess) and whether it could be undone . Or should a buyer either live with it or put in a new engine.?

thanks.  I'm also a newbie so i hope i am posting  this properly

Dick

The Tassie Devil(le)

The biggest reason for the Horsepower drop is that in 1971, Horsepower and Torque was measured with all accessories attached, and working, which is a true representation of the useable power.

Before that, the measurements were taken with a completely non-accessoried engine end not a true representation.

Plus, the Compression rates dropped in 1971 to allow for the use of Unleaded petrol.