News:

Reminder to CLC members, please make sure that your CLC number is stored in the relevant field in your forum profile. This is important for the upcoming change to the Forums access, More information can be found at the top of the General Discussion forum. To view or edit your profile details, click on your username, at the top of any forum page. Your username only appears when you are signed in.

Main Menu

What to watch-out for on a 1972 Eldorado

Started by Chris Arneson, March 04, 2005, 09:57:04 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Chris Arneson

Im looking at a 1972 Eldorado convertible which is priced right but has fallen somewhat into a state of disrepair.  It currently is not running, but is claimed to have run in the fall.

What are the known issues with this model car to look our for?

Thanks,
Chris

Rikard Stenberg

Hi Chris!
I do not think that I am an 100percent expert on these cars but I own a 73 Eldorado convertible right now (my second 73 Indy pace car replica actually). But I think I have a good picture on what to look out for:

* Convertible top mechanism
Although a fantastic design these "scissor tops", full width rear seat, nice lines of the car, etc. But it is really sensitive and quite often gives you problems. Partly a number of bushings that usually needs replacing and most of them are fairly easy to exchange but the center one is a mess...

Also the top has two drive wires that probably needs replacing, the motor usually survives.

* Drive axels
Well, this huuge car is front wheel drive and the drive axels are often prone to be worn out.

* Rusted out floor pans
There are usually quite a lot of rust in the floor pans, lift the front mats and lift out the rear seat cushion and have a look - not just look under the car.

* Worn hinges
These door are huuge and even heavier! Usually the hinges needs replacing, as do the hinges to the hood.

Besides that the cruice control, air condition and the clock "never" seem to work on these cars :-)