News:

Reminder to CLC members, please make sure that your CLC number is stored in the relevant field in your forum profile. This is important for the upcoming change to the Forums access, More information can be found at the top of the General Discussion forum. To view or edit your profile details, click on your username, at the top of any forum page. Your username only appears when you are signed in.

Main Menu

1958 Murder trial of a Maine woman (Cadillac carbon monoxide poisoning possible)

Started by ByronWillis, March 12, 2021, 12:09:04 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ByronWillis

Hey there Cadillac aficionados,
I am researching the case of a Patricia, a 28-year-old Maine woman who died in 1958 in the back seat of an idling Cadillac.  A man (Everett) was charged with her murder, and during the trial his chief defense was carbon monoxide poisoning.

I have limited experience with classic cars, and I'm exploring/researching the possibility of this explanation.

Here are the facts that are known for certain:
Everett drove the Cadillac from Augusta, ME to Oakland, ME (20 miles), where he picked up the Patricia at 1:40PM on the afternoon of Tue, 6/3/1958
They drove together to one location (unsure where), and then another location (8 miles) away her home
They parked the car, left the engine on (idling), turned on the A/C, and moved to the back seat of the cabin.
The last thing that Everett said he remembered from that afternoon is Patricia asking him the time, to which he replied 4:00PM (they were still in the car)
Patricia died in the back seat of the car, time of death disputed (body not found until 2 days later)
Everett left the car on foot at some point that afternoon and wandered on foot, missing for two days, disoriented and foggy

(scroll down thread for the rest of the story.  The character limit cuts off what I can post in one post.)

Eric DeVirgilis CLC# 8621