News:

Due to a technical issue, some recently uploaded pictures have been lost. We are investigating why this happened but the issue has been resolved so that future uploads should be safe.  You can also Modify your post (MORE...) and re-upload the pictures in your post.

Main Menu

1957 Cadillac Eldorado Biarritz - Lots of Pictures - Restoration

Started by Biarritz Duke, April 18, 2023, 07:10:30 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Biarritz Duke

Hello CLC Members,
My name is Jason and I'm the new owner of a 1957 Cadillac Eldorado Biarritz.  I have been reading through the forum the last two months and with John Emerson's help, collecting literature relevant to my car.  I am also in the process of joining the NorthStar Region CLC.  I'm looking forward to meeting folks with similar interest and learning....a lot....as I have a lot to learn.

Background:
I am relatively new to classic cars, but have a foundation of basic to start from.  My wife and I were at a national auction this past year and both fell in love with a 1957 Biarritz.  It went well above the "budget" but we were hooked and the search began.  I located our current Biarritz online from an individual seller who was selling on behalf of his Grandpa who had to move on from the car and several others, due to health reasons.  He was the second owner and has had it since the 1980s.  The grandson says he always remembers the car being a dark metallic red, but a look at the spare parts boxes and the trim tag reveals the car was originally a triple green car. 

What I'm told is that 10 years ago Grandpa tore the car down to nuts and bolts and started a restoration.  Five years into the restoration he had a stroke and stopped working on the car, it has since sat and not been running since.  The car was listed in Florida as complete and only needing the interior assembled, along with the engine air cleaner.