News:

Due to a technical issue, some recently uploaded pictures have been lost. We are investigating why this happened but the issue has been resolved so that future uploads should be safe.  You can also Modify your post (MORE...) and re-upload the pictures in your post.

Main Menu

First Class SS Delivery v Periodical Mail

Started by Bryan J Moran, November 16, 2022, 10:19:28 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Bryan J Moran

I went to the CLC website to join the club.  I don't own any Cadillacs or old cars. But I have a subscription to Vintage Trucks magazine because I like old trucks.  I prefer a magazine or book, especially seasonally, in the living room or office with coffee or a glass of wine.  I am on the computer enough as it is, prefer not to get my SS this way.

I'll sign up for 2 years and see how it goes. My options are $109 for 1st Class Mail or $79 for "periodical mail".  Not sure I have ever heard of that.  Heck I might go 3 years at $118 for "periodical mail", especially in these inflationary times!

Is there really a huge difference between the 2?  For instance, I typically mail my sold model train items out at USPS by "2 Day Priority" because there is literally no difference in price between that and 1st class, maybe 50 cents. 

I subscribed for one year to Hemmings Classic Cars magazine for $18 and it never arrived damaged, although all they did was place a label on it, and paper quality is fair, it was never damaged.

I could care less about beating someone to an ad selling a Cadillac, I have access to the on-line SS same as everyone and I am not necessarily looking for the typical $35,000 car that shows up in the SS. 

So getting the magazine a week later than others is not important to me.  But having it arrive mangled is.  Still, that's a $30 difference which is owed all to postage and delivery quality and timeliness.   

How do you get your paper SS and have you noticed issues?  I am going to pull the trigger on a new subscription.