News:

Reminder to CLC members, please make sure that your CLC number is stored in the relevant field in your forum profile. This is important for the upcoming change to the Forums access, More information can be found at the top of the General Discussion forum. To view or edit your profile details, click on your username, at the top of any forum page. Your username only appears when you are signed in.

Main Menu

carb help

Started by grimdame, January 30, 2008, 12:10:27 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

grimdame

hi yall i was told by a friend to come here and that someone here may be able to help

ok im havening trouble mounting a carb i was giving to try out on my 61 cad, it is a Rochester 4b carb. i bought a adapter kit for it, but with the back plate on the engine the screws are not long enough to work, do i need that black plate on there? or am i supposed to replace that piece with the adapter plate?
here are some pics

also im not too good with engines, body work yes, engines no. so i have no clue what hooks up to what, is there any online manuals that would tell me?

any help would be great

TJ Hopland

The adapter in your top picture is called a spread bore carb to square bore manifold (most commonly Quadeajet carb on a Holley manifold).   Your manifold looks to be spread bore which should be what the quadrajet in your second picture fits on.   What is the issue?  The black plate looks to just be a straight through spacer perhaps installed to try and lower temps and prevent vapor lock.  You dont need that new adaptor.
73 Eldo convert w/FiTech EFI, over 30 years of ownership and counting
Somewhat recently deceased daily drivers, 80 Eldo Diesel & 90 CDV
And other assorted stuff I keep buying for some reason

grimdame

the bottom back holes on the carb are bigger then the bottom holes on the manifold, thats why i thought i needed the adaptor

dadscad