News:

Due to a technical issue, some recently uploaded pictures have been lost. We are investigating why this happened but the issue has been resolved so that future uploads should be safe.  You can also Modify your post (MORE...) and re-upload the pictures in your post.

Main Menu

57-62 Mystery Vibration

Started by John Shumate #21509, October 10, 2007, 06:01:45 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

dadscad

John,

Please let us know how converting the rear section to a solid tube works out. I've been chasing the rumbling vibration in my 63 CDV since I've had it (17 Years). It definatley seems to be coming from the rear section of the unit. I've had success changing the intensity of the rumble by working on the rear section joints and center support bearing, but have not had satifying results.

I've got two DS for my car. One I bought from a DS shop that was supposed to be rebuilt and the original that I've had rebuilt and that I've personally rebuilt. both DS still have the rumble.

Good luck,
David
Enjoy The Ride,
David Thomas CLC #14765
1963 Coupe deVille

John Shumate #21509

Question: I believe that I could replace my rear draiveshaft (1958 Sixty Special) with one from a 1957 Sixty Special without modification. The Sixty Special shaft is longer than the DeVille or Series 62. Can any one verify that the shafts are interchangeable? The 1957 shaft is one piece, while the 1958 is two pieces. Thanks,
John Shumate
John Shumate CLC #21509

Roger Zimmermann

Quote from: John Shumate #21509 on January 10, 2008, 01:51:29 PM
Can any one verify that the shafts are interchangeable? The 1957 shaft is one piece, while the 1958 is two pieces. Thanks,
John Shumate
John, you are wrong: the '57 shaft is also in 2 pieces. According to the Master parts book, the '57 & '58 60S shafts are identical.
1956 Sedan de Ville (sold)
1956 Eldorado Biarritz
1957 Eldorado Brougham (sold)
1972 Coupe de Ville
2011 DTS
CLCMRC benefactor #101

The Tassie Devil(le)