News:

Reminder to CLC members, please make sure that your CLC number is stored in the relevant field in your forum profile. This is important for the upcoming change to the Forums access, More information can be found at the top of the General Discussion forum. To view or edit your profile details, click on your username, at the top of any forum page. Your username only appears when you are signed in.

Main Menu

fuel line replacement

Started by Alan Harris CLC#1513, November 02, 2008, 08:34:01 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Alan Harris CLC#1513

I am working on my 1940 LaSalle 5219. I have ordered a one piece fuel line from Classic Tube. It hasn't arrived yet.

I have been looking under the car and now realize that it will be very difficult to install a one piece line. Has anyone else done this? Is it possible to do in one piece? Are there any tricks I should know?

I have a 1948 Master parts Book. It appears that these were supplied in one piece by the factory. I would imagine that all of the flathead era cars are similar. Thanks

Fred Zwicker #23106

If necessary to splice a fuel line, do NOT use compression fittings under any circumstances.  A compression fitting has the small  (usually brass) round tapered tubular part that squeezes when fittings are tightened.

While no splices are preferred, a properly installed flare fitting can probably be used (unless others have a better idea).  I installed new steel fuel lines on my recent 1939 LaSalle restoration and did not have to do any splicing, but we had a lift and most of the body was off.

Fred
1930 LaSalle Convertible Coupe, CCCA Senior
1939 LaSalle 2-Dr. Conv.  CLC Senior in 2008
1940 Cadillac Series 75 4 Dr. Convertible
1947 Cadillac Series 62 Convertible Coupe
1948 Cadillac Convertible - modified by Holly (driver)
1966 Cadillac DeVille Conv. Restored - Red
See Pictures at www.tpcarcollection.com

TJ Hopland