News:

Due to a technical issue, some recently uploaded pictures have been lost. We are investigating why this happened but the issue has been resolved so that future uploads should be safe.  You can also Modify your post (MORE...) and re-upload the pictures in your post.

Main Menu

fender skirt removal

Started by Quinton Bradford #25053, November 21, 2008, 02:41:21 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Quinton Bradford #25053

I recently purchased 63 Deville.  I am very ashamed of myself for asking this, but I must admit that I am new to the world of owning a vintage car.  How do you remove the fender skirts?  I haven't had to remove them yet, but I know I will soon.  Would the owners manual, if I had one, cover this?  Any help is greatly appreciated!

Q
Quinton Bradford
1963 Cadillac DeVille - "Gertie"

Dave Shepherd

Take a look at the center of the bottom edge of the skirt, should be a square lug that turns counter clockwise, it is made to fit the lug wrench.

quadfins

Just make sure that you turn it the correct way. If you force it the wrong way, you'll dent the sheet metal.
Jim Eccleston
1961 Coupe de Ville
BATILAC
Senior Crown
DeCou Driving Award x 4

TJ Hopland

How long was that the style?  I know in the early 70's it was just a metal bar that was held on a small hook.
StPaul/Mpls, MN USA

73 Eldo convert w/FiTech EFI
80 Eldo Diesel
90 CDV
And other assorted stuff I keep buying for some reason

76eldo

It's that way on a 1960, so I would suspect it goes back a little further than that.

Brian
Brian Rachlin
Huntingdon Valley, Pa
I prefer email's not PM's rachlin@comcast.net

1960 62 Series Conv with Factory Tri Power
1970 DeVille Conv
1970 Eldo
1970 Caribu (?) "The Cadmino"
1973 Eldorado Conv Pace Car
1976 Eldorado Conv
1980 Eldorado H & E Conv
1993 Allante with Hardtop (X2)
2008 DTS
2012 CTS Coupe
2017 XT
1956 Thunderbird
1966 Olds Toronado

Otto Skorzeny

fward

Ask not what your country can do for you, but what you can do for YOURSELF