News:

Reminder to CLC members, please make sure that your CLC number is stored in the relevant field in your forum profile. This is important for the upcoming change to the Forums access, More information can be found at the top of the General Discussion forum. To view or edit your profile details, click on your username, at the top of any forum page. Your username only appears when you are signed in.

Main Menu

1941 Grill Restoration Question:

Started by paulp, January 25, 2009, 12:01:10 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

paulp

I am cleaning up those vertical bent metal bars prior to re-installing my grill.  Mine appear to have been painted a silver color.  Is that  factory or were they originally galvanized?  Or what?  I cleaned one today and painted it with "chrome color" from a spray can.  It looks pretty good, but what were they coated with originally and how should they look when I arrive at the Grand National meet ?

Paul N. Price   CLC 23300

Joe Manna

Paul,I am no expert by any means on a 41 grille.But I did have one for sale a while back.I was told by a member of our region,that the grille bars were pot metal,which I'm sure you know.As far as I can tell,I don't think they are painted inside the bars.

You might want to check the "Chapters" link on the home page.I beleive there is a '41 chapter listed.

Hope I was able to help you out.Good Luck in finding an answer.

Joe
1951 Chevrolet Bel-Air-50's Style Custom
1963 Cadillac 4 Window Sedan deVille
1991 Cadillac DW69 Brougham,All original and used daily
2015 Cadillac SRX

Bob Hoffmann CLC#96

Paul, the metal verticle bars are chromed steel. Because they are almost  impossible to clean, most originals are rusty. McVey sells SS repro's that work well. HTH, Bob
1968 Eldorado slick top ,white/red interior
2015 Holden Ute HSV Maloo red/black interior.

Too much fun is more than you can have.

paulp