News:

Reminder to CLC members, please make sure that your CLC number is stored in the relevant field in your forum profile. This is important for the upcoming change to the Forums access, More information can be found at the top of the General Discussion forum. To view or edit your profile details, click on your username, at the top of any forum page. Your username only appears when you are signed in.

Main Menu

cowl tag decode 1960 model

Started by Az Caddyman, April 18, 2009, 09:42:32 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Az Caddyman

Hi guys
nice site, a little new here so bare with me..
I picked up a 60 Caddy last week, and in the process of possibly
restoring it. I think its a Fleetwood.
With this pic of the cowl tag, can someone help me decode it etc
and tell me anything about the car ? Im new to the older models, sorry.
Dayle G

Tucson Az

Otto Skorzeny

Someone more knowlegable than I will have to help you on this one. 

Series 60 cars came in only one body style, designated 6039  for the 60 Special built by Fleetwood.

Your tag says 6029. This is not listed in my reference material. There is a 6229 and 6329 ( both 6w htp sdn), a 6929 (Eldo Brougham)

It would help if you told us what model you think it is. Is it a 4 door hardtop? My guess is that it's a 60 special. Don't know why it says 29 instead of 39

The color is Platinum Grey Iridescent.

fward

Ask not what your country can do for you, but what you can do for YOURSELF

HUGE VENDOR LIST CLICK HERE

Warren Rauch

The proper code for a 60S is 6029,so this is  a Sixty -Special (Fleetwood 60S).
The accessory codes E=easy eye glass (tinted), H=heater,K =air conditioned, and Y= 6 way power seat.
trim code 63= Locarno Blue Cardinal Cloth and Locarno Blue Florentine Leather
  Top code 14= Platinum Gray vicodec cloth
  Lower paint 14= Platinum Gray paint.