News:

Due to a technical issue, some recently uploaded pictures have been lost. We are investigating why this happened but the issue has been resolved so that future uploads should be safe.  You can also Modify your post (MORE...) and re-upload the pictures in your post.

Main Menu

Follow-up on voltage regulators

Started by John Barry [CLC17027], May 12, 2009, 10:24:17 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

John Barry [CLC17027]

This pertains specifically to a regulator for a pre-war car (specifically, a '40 LaSalle) and therefore to a 6 volt positive ground system.  I know that a voltage regulator fresh out of the box (so to speak) needs to be polarized once it's mounted on the firewall and presumably wired.  I don't know what that involves, though.  Could someone please give me a step-by-step guide as to what I need to do?  I've heard it's pretty simple but I've never done it before.

Thanks in advance.

J. Gomez

John,

If you do a search you will find several postings discussing polarizing the generator (see last link below). Meanwhile here are a few Tech Tips sites.

Good luck..!

http://www.starautoelectric.com/Technical.htm
http://web.utk.edu/~tprather/FoothillsTractorClub/TechTips/PolarizeGenerator.html
http://www.cadillaclasalleclub.org/forum/index.php/topic,105681.0.html
J. Gomez
CLC #23082

Ron Meining

Actually. the generator needs polorized when replaced but a regulator does not.
1940 7529 Sedan Convertible

Doug Houston

To add to the above statement, the generator must be polarized if it has been off of the car, or is a new or rebuilt part.

One other precaution to observe, is that if there is a radio interference ncondenser on the generator, it must be connnected to the armature (large screw) terminal of the generator, and not to the field terminal. I have seen this done, and the regulator was ruined in a matter of minutes.
38-6019S
38-9039
39-9057B
41-6227D
41-6019SF
41-6229D
41-6267D
56-6267
70-DeV Conv
41-Chev 41-1167
41 Olds 41-3929