News:

Due to a technical issue, some recently uploaded pictures have been lost. We are investigating why this happened but the issue has been resolved so that future uploads should be safe.  You can also Modify your post (MORE...) and re-upload the pictures in your post.

Main Menu

1940 Lasalle convertible coupe 40-5067 bent frame need help

Started by Jim Beard, June 22, 2010, 10:36:35 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Jim Beard

Hello I am new to the caddy lasalle world and need a little help. I had been looking for a 1938-40 GM coupe for a long time and just found a 1940 Lasalle convertible coupe model 40-5067 and pulled it out of a barn and brought it home last weekend. It is a nice rust free car and  it came with just about 3 of everything since the guy I bought it from has owned it for 60 years and kept buying "just in case" parts for it. Anyway I removed the front clip to do some motor and elec work and found that the frame has a good hit that needs to be straightened on the right side frame rail right by the engine mount. Has anybody ever had experience with a body shp straightening these? Does the body have to come off the frame to get at all the measuring points? Any help would be appreciated. By the way I am going to put all the good extra parts on the car keep a double of everything and am selling all the surplus parts I have. If you need something let me know I might have one.

The Tassie Devil(le)

Pity it didn't come with an extra frame, but all is not lost.

Contact a Bodyworks, with a Frame Straightener, or "Rack", and talk to them about getting yours back into shape.

In 99% of cases, the body doesn't have to come off, and in most cases, the repairer would need the body to stay in place for reference and alignment purposes.

The older the Bodyworks the better, with older tradespersons, as these will really know what to do.

Bruce. >:D