News:

Reminder to CLC members, please make sure that your CLC number is stored in the relevant field in your forum profile. This is important for the upcoming change to the Forums access, More information can be found at the top of the General Discussion forum. To view or edit your profile details, click on your username, at the top of any forum page. Your username only appears when you are signed in.

Main Menu

Need advice on car transport company - cross country

Started by Scott Anderson CLC#26068, July 09, 2010, 05:38:39 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Scott Anderson CLC#26068

Hello - I'm new to the CLC forum and have purchased my first Cadillac, a 1941 convertible coupe. It is presently in Florida and I need it transported to Washington state and I am struggling with choosing a transport company; I'm hoping for some 'Adult Supervision' from the members as I've never done this before.

I have done a search on the forum ('trucking','transport','Passport', etc) and have read through the posts so please don't flame me. I've learned alot from that (for example my insurance is with J.C.Taylor, and through the posts' suggestions I will contact them to verify that I am insured also for the transport (in addition to the trucking company insurance)).

I'm (re) asking because most of the posts are a year or two old and things change. For example one post highly recommended Blue Highways but they've suspended operations. Also, FedEx has re-sold their piece back to Passport. And so on. I have seen sirjimi's post (http://www.cadillaclasalleclub.org/forum/index.php/topic,111165.0.html) as I think the most recent. 

Here's what I have so far, appreciate any suggestions, thoughts, from folks - hopefully this isn't too long, just wanted to share up front what I have:

FedEx - fedex.com
Pros:
-I've two friends that had good experience with them, also recommended by Lance Lambert (vintagevehicles.com).