News:

Due to a technical issue, some recently uploaded pictures have been lost. We are investigating why this happened but the issue has been resolved so that future uploads should be safe.  You can also Modify your post (MORE...) and re-upload the pictures in your post.

Main Menu

What wt/viscosity oil for my 67 Coupe DeVille???

Started by Asa Mulinix, August 30, 2010, 06:25:10 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Asa Mulinix

Ok....As stated previously, I'm new to the Vintage Cadillacs....I don't yet have a shop manual (got several on my watch list on Ebay) so I'm pretty much just running by the seat of my pants here.  I was in the parts store the other day and I picked up an oil filter and five qts of oil.  I picked up 10w40 just like I would put in any of the small block chevies I've owned...Then it occurs to me that this isn't a small block chevrolet.  So I come in and put Google through it's paces searching for something that'll send me down the right road to new found knowledge about my Cadillac...Apparently my search skills are lacking.  I did find one blog where a gent mentioned using 5w30 in his 67 Cadillac.  Of course a blog is like a bathroom wall...anyone can write on em but it doesn't make what they write the truth....So,  I'm asking.   What oil should I be buying for my 1967 Cadillac Coupe DeVille?

Thanks guys,

Asa Mulinix

35-709

Did you get an Owner's Manual with the car?  It would recommend 10W-30 for most conditions.  10W-40 will work just fine especially in an engine that has accumulated some miles and is what I normally use here in FLA.
Geoff N.
1935 Cadillac Sedan resto-mod "Big Red"
1973 Cadillac Caribou - Sold - but still in the family
1950 Jaguar Mark V Saloon resto-mod - Sold
1942 Cadillac 6269 - Sold
1968 Pontiac Bonneville Convertible - Sold
1950 Packard 2dr. Club Sedan
1935 Glenn Pray - Auburn Boattail Speedster, Gen. 2

bill henry

I only drive my 70 in the summer and I use sae 30wt high detergant Valvoline + 1 pint GM EOS.
Bill Henry