News:

Due to a technical issue, some recently uploaded pictures have been lost. We are investigating why this happened but the issue has been resolved so that future uploads should be safe.  You can also Modify your post (MORE...) and re-upload the pictures in your post.

Main Menu

49 convertible restoration questions

Started by gangster49vert, September 15, 2011, 05:57:40 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

gangster49vert

I just bought a 49 convertible an I am planning on restoring the vehicle as original as possible. One of the questions I have is ..should the vehicle be restored to the original color code 17 corinth blue or if I say with in the factory color chart and paint it #9 maderia maroon or possibly black would it affect the value of the vehicle in the long run? Is corinth blue a sought after color for a 49 convertible? I need  Some feedback im not an expert on 49 Cadillacs but the one I have truly deserves the best of treatment. I am currently looking for parts including the trunk latch assemblies,chrome molding lower convertible top,washer bottle and pump, cig lighter 'rear ash trays,window switches, interior trim?  Thanks..... Gary

P W Allen CLC# 20193

I would say generally, you would be better off keeping the car the original factory color. In the long run, the value would probably be more. However, if you really don't like the original color, paint it the color you like. It's your car. I would though, stay with one of the original colors offered in 49. Good luck with it!
Paul
53 Coupe
Twin Turbine

Tito Sobrinho

After you join the CLC, I recommend you to join the 1949 Chapter within the CLC by writing to Joe Cutler the President...49caddymanemail addresses not permitted. 
Tito S.

1949 CCP 6267X  (First Series)

Thanks to Frank Hershey for its design and thanks to Harry Barr, Ed Cole, John Gordon and Byron Ellis for its engine.

49 Convertible