News:

Reminder to CLC members, please make sure that your CLC number is stored in the relevant field in your forum profile. This is important for the upcoming change to the Forums access, More information can be found at the top of the General Discussion forum. To view or edit your profile details, click on your username, at the top of any forum page. Your username only appears when you are signed in.

Main Menu

Looking for advice on buying first Cadillac convertible

Started by ddietze, October 11, 2011, 10:09:49 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

ddietze

I'm new to the game but want to buy an older Cadillac convertible.  I want suggestions on model and year.  I saw a 1969 Coupe Deville (I think if was a Coupe Deville)  and loved the lines.   Again not sure best year but from what I can see online the 1966 - to early 70s  is what I'm looking for.  I'm also trying to spend under $15k  and wondering if thats's possible for a decent car?

I'm looking for advice on which model and year I should go with as well as the best way to find the car. 
Thanks

R Sotardi #11719

Your likes and desires may differ from others. So I will give my humble opinion. For $15K  A convertible that you buy will probably need some work and I presume you prefer the 69 style, so here goes. Any 68 -72s are good cars and somewhat under valued. 1971 & 72 have lower octane requirement due to lower compression for low lead gas of that era. 68-70s need real high test. Look for rust in areas behind front wheel wells and around the rear  fender wells. The 472 was a great engine, as was the 500ci. Not so much, the 429s 64-67(  & 390 of 63) . I'll catch it on that! Any 49 -55 were great also, but probably too much dough. Watch for electric glitchs and dash cracks. I recommend you join the Cadillac -La Salle Club and a local chapter. Inquire from members, any cars for sale and their expertise.  If you can find it, Richard Langworths Cadillac buyers guide. Ron

C.R. Patton II

Hello