News:

Due to a technical issue, some recently uploaded pictures have been lost. We are investigating why this happened but the issue has been resolved so that future uploads should be safe.  You can also Modify your post (MORE...) and re-upload the pictures in your post.

Main Menu

1968 Eldorado (similar on all 472's) frozen distributor-can't set timing

Started by Scot Minesinger, May 16, 2012, 11:58:50 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Scot Minesinger

The distributor will not turn on the 1968 Eldorado with 472.  It is frozen.  The distributor is delicate and so have to be careful (not made of iron like block).  The car has 36,000 original miles on it and it has probably never been changed from the factory setting.  Any ideas on how to free it up?  We have tried many tricks to no avail, I'm an amateur mechanic.
Fairfax Station, VA  22039 (Washington DC Sub)
1970 Cadillac DeVille Convertible
1970 Cadillac Sedan DeVille
1970 four door Convertible w/Cadillac Warranty

The Tassie Devil(le)

G'day Scot,

The only way to free it, without snapping it off is to soak the base, where it enters the block with a penetrating oil, and keep of spraying it.

A bit hard to do any tapping with a hammer or drift from underneath, but anything should help.

If you can place a damming material around the base, as in plasticine, or even create a moat effect around the piece with JB Weld, then fill the "moat" with the penetrating oil, it will eventually seep down, and hopefully become free.

I had this happen with a Ford Cleveland motor, and eventually got it out.

Bruce. >:D
'72 Eldorado Convertible (LHD)
'70 Ranchero Squire (RHD)
'74 Chris Craft Gull Wing (SH)
'02 VX Series II Holden Commodore SS Sedan
(Past President Modified Chapter)

Past Cars of significance - to me
1935 Ford 3 Window Coupe
1936 Ford 5 Window Coupe
1937 Chevrolet Sports Coupe
1955 Chevrolet Convertible
1959 Ford Fairlane Ranch Wagon
1960 Cadillac CDV
1972 Cadillac Eldorado Coupe

Glen