News:

Reminder to CLC members, please make sure that your CLC number is stored in the relevant field in your forum profile. This is important for the upcoming change to the Forums access, More information can be found at the top of the General Discussion forum. To view or edit your profile details, click on your username, at the top of any forum page. Your username only appears when you are signed in.

Main Menu

Reparing cars along the roadway,

Started by LeRoy DeVol, August 30, 2012, 02:33:35 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

LeRoy DeVol

I have been driving for 60 years and have owned 40 cars & trucks. In all those years i have broke down many times but have never been towed! There are 4 times i can't forget. When i was 17 i had a 36 Plymouth and the clutch plate came apart. I was in a farm area with fences everywhere. I broke away a piece of wood from a fence post,  broke it into small pieces , loosened the bolts on the pressure plate, drove the wood between the clutch plate and the flywheel & Tightened the bolts. I started the car in first gear, shifted into second gear & drove home. The biggest breakdown was when i was 21 and i had a 47 Cad. and i was