News:

Reminder to CLC members, please make sure that your CLC number is stored in the relevant field in your forum profile. This is important for the upcoming change to the Forums access, More information can be found at the top of the General Discussion forum. To view or edit your profile details, click on your username, at the top of any forum page. Your username only appears when you are signed in.

Main Menu

What should I do? Involves another CLC member.

Started by Bill Caddyshack, March 05, 2013, 09:18:01 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Bill Caddyshack

I hope that I am not crossing any forum boundaries here, but I need help with a situation. I am recently retired and wanted to explore my lifetime desire to have a vintage Cadillac. I joined the CLC (local and National) in July 2012.

I am a complete newbie to vintage cars though I worked on my own cars in the '50s and '60s.

Then, I saw MY car! A bright red 1958 Cadillac Eldorado Biarritz on eBay several months ago and went for it! The seller is a very nice man with many years in vintage Cadillac restoration and owns several Cadillac convertibles in the fifties and early sixties. Very knowledgeable. A CLC member and Board member in his region.

I talked with him before I bid. He told me that he had owned the car for two or three years and that it was in excellent restorable condition. His eBay ad mentioned that this was one of the most desirable Cadillacs and that these cars sold, when restored and documented, for $150,000 to $200,000. He also stated in the eBay ad that the engine and frames had matching numbers.

He told me he would guide me in the restoration and sourcing of parts. I was unable to visit and inspect the car due to an ill family member. About two thousand miles separated me from the Biarritz, time was drawing nigh and I felt I had to move quickly.