News:

Reminder to CLC members, please make sure that your CLC number is stored in the relevant field in your forum profile. This is important for the upcoming change to the Forums access, More information can be found at the top of the General Discussion forum. To view or edit your profile details, click on your username, at the top of any forum page. Your username only appears when you are signed in.

Main Menu

57 Cadillac brakes not releasing.

Started by Gene McCormick, April 15, 2013, 01:15:37 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Gene McCormick

I have removed every brake drum and all 4 brakes are fine and I have a new master cylinder installed last year and brakes were
great. Now as soon I apply brakes in my garage they don't release and brake pedal sometimes barely moves. Hand brake is not on.
I can move forward a bit but in reverse almost impossible. I did install a new carb and had to disconnect vacuum hose to power
booster but it is rehooked up. Is the power booster unit ??  Is there any test to see what is causing the problem? It says in shop
manual....check vacuum cylinder lubricant level. How do you do that ?  I did unhook the vacuum line. No change.  Brakes seem to
be locked on all four wheels. Kinda like pushing down a shock and it does not return. Back to pulling off wheels again.

dplotkin

Gene; you have a different and if I recall properly a one year only booster/master. My 60 Electra (Delco-Morain) failed with similar symptoms, engine vacuum sucked the brakes on full, had to kill the motor to release them. On the other hand a maladjusted pedal to master pushrod can cause the brakes to drag, heat up, expand & lock up. Had that happen too, in my 62 Bonneville. Check these things, I'm betting its the booster. They are perishable items on old cars-kind of like heater cores.

Dan
56 Fleetwood Sixty Special (Starlight silver over Dawn Grey)
60 Buick Electra six window
60 Chrysler 300 F Coupe
61 Plymouth Savoy Ram Inducted 413 Superstock