News:

Reminder to CLC members, please make sure that your CLC number is stored in the relevant field in your forum profile. This is important for the upcoming change to the Forums access, More information can be found at the top of the General Discussion forum. To view or edit your profile details, click on your username, at the top of any forum page. Your username only appears when you are signed in.

Main Menu

'56 Clock doesn't run- what is the typical problem?

Started by Charlie CLC#18187, July 09, 2013, 11:28:28 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Charlie CLC#18187

What is it that typically goes wrong with clocks of this type?  I took mine apart to look at the works, and it appears pristine as new inside.  I am not a clock expert, but I can't see anything that looks burned, broken or bent.  Do the coils go bad internally somehow? 

Is there any trick to get these going that doesn't require sending out for repair?   

Thanks,
Charlie
1956 Coupe de Ville

Glen

Is the main spring wound?  If it is wound the electrical contacts will not be touching.  The big reason for them not to run is the oil is old.  The clock needs to be cleaned and oiled with clock oil.  I’ve never found a substitute for clock oil.

If the contacts are touching then put power to the clock and see what happens.  If it contacts jump apart then the coil is OK.   

Let us know what you find and we can go from there. 
Glen Houlton CLC #727 
CLCMRC benefactor #104

The Tassie Devil(le)

Try testing the coil leads with a multi meter to see if there is a short within the winding.

If there is, then there will be no actuation of the winder.

Bruce. >:D
'72 Eldorado Convertible (LHD)
'70 Ranchero Squire (RHD)
'74 Chris Craft Gull Wing (SH)
'02 VX Series II Holden Commodore SS Sedan
(Past President Modified Chapter)

Past Cars of significance - to me
1935 Ford 3 Window Coupe
1936 Ford 5 Window Coupe
1937 Chevrolet Sports Coupe
1955 Chevrolet Convertible
1959 Ford Fairlane Ranch Wagon
1960 Cadillac CDV