News:

Reminder to CLC members, please make sure that your CLC number is stored in the relevant field in your forum profile. This is important for the upcoming change to the Forums access, More information can be found at the top of the General Discussion forum. To view or edit your profile details, click on your username, at the top of any forum page. Your username only appears when you are signed in.

Main Menu

79 Seville ESS

Started by iamnqr, July 21, 2013, 02:57:58 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

iamnqr

I am new to the CLC and wondering if I can impose on some technical expertise.  I bought a 79 Seville (CA model) that had been sitting for three years and needs restoration; water damage (rust, but not too overly much - three small areas on the body where the roof meets the main body; sub-frame, floor pans and trunk are ok), cosmetic issues with the interior (reupolstery) and carpet.
However, one of my major concerns that I came across is the ESS module (part# 1894499) looks to be toast.  The jel protection for the electronics at some point melted out.  I've looked around the net and found them not to be an easy item to obtain. I've found one place that sells them for 395 plus 100  core. I guess my first question is can it be bypassed? If not, will any ESS module work from a 78/79 or does it have to be from a California car, which mine is? Another is what would cause it to overheat like that?
I haven't dug too far into yet because I have a load of other things on it that can keep me busy and I'm still waiting on the arrival of the service manual. I don't want to just put another one in  and find out the same thing happens. If anyone has any leads on where I can get another one that is not too extortionate, or what the issues could be I appreciate it.