News:

Due to a technical issue, some recently uploaded pictures have been lost. We are investigating why this happened but the issue has been resolved so that future uploads should be safe.  You can also Modify your post (MORE...) and re-upload the pictures in your post.

Main Menu

74 eldo AC leaking evap.

Started by Viator Trudeau, July 26, 2013, 06:59:44 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Viator Trudeau

I found a known good evaporator, but what to look for problems in the VIR.
Its the original unit  What to look for not being right.
Does any one out there have any suggestions?  Thanks
V Trudeau

TJ Hopland

I'm no expert on these but am in the process of learning right now because I am trying to get my 73's AC up and running. 

It's apparently an odd and unique design that GM tried out mid 73-76.   Originally it was considered a non serviceable part and if there was a problem it was to be replaced as an assembly.  It appears that at one time there were some service parts available for them but they either were used up or rotted on the shelf so there was a period where there was nothing available.  It appears that now there is a basic rebuild kit available which consists of some o rings, gaskets, and the descant (dryer) bag.  I am told that the actual valve part of the unit was reasonably reliable which is good since they are apparently not available.  What can kill them is a compressor coming apart and filling them with crap or them sitting for a long time and corroding.  It seems if either of those things happens to them they won't ever work correctly again.  There also seems to be great debate on if they can or should be calibrated and if they can or should be re calibrated to work better with R134.