News:

Reminder to CLC members, please make sure that your CLC number is stored in the relevant field in your forum profile. This is important for the upcoming change to the Forums access, More information can be found at the top of the General Discussion forum. To view or edit your profile details, click on your username, at the top of any forum page. Your username only appears when you are signed in.

Main Menu

1959 cadillac horns wont shut off

Started by dgworks845, October 26, 2013, 12:03:06 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

dgworks845

I've been restoring this car for 10 years now, I'm just about completed with it except my horns wont stop blowing as soon as I plug in my new horn relay. I took the steering wheel back off, the wire running through the column has the plastic bushing in place, the back of the horn ring still has the rubber gasket on it. I put cruise control on the car forcing me to change the nuetral safety switch in which I put my old one back in and still. HORNS ARE BLOWING... at the horn relay the red and tan wire is hot...Help me if u can.. Thanks,Dwayne

LeRoy DeVol

Dewayne; Disconnect the horn wire at the steering column and if the horn stops then the problem is in the steering column. If the horn still blows then either there is a short in the wiring from the relay to the column or you have a bad relay.

Lee DeVol 

dgworks845

thanks leroy, the horns do stop when i disconnect the tan wire on top of safety switch on the column. but i also took it a step furthur to diagnose the wire at top of the column being shorted out inside the hollow shaft. I grounded my test light to a positive lead then tested this wire to see if its ground and NO,my white wire in the column isnt grounded. this is insane.... dwayne

dgworks845