News:

Reminder to CLC members, please make sure that your CLC number is stored in the relevant field in your forum profile. This is important for the upcoming change to the Forums access, More information can be found at the top of the General Discussion forum. To view or edit your profile details, click on your username, at the top of any forum page. Your username only appears when you are signed in.

Main Menu

Advice on Potential Long Distance Purchase (59' Sedan)

Started by nick7764, November 18, 2013, 12:57:11 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

nick7764

Hello,

Bit of a newbie here!  As a quick introduction, I'm a 23 year old guy who loves vintage everything... I've owned several vintage cars, with an affinity towards vintage microcars.  My current baby is a mostly restored 1956 BMW Isetta. 
With that being said, I occasionally jump to the opposite end of the spectrum, and appreciate bigger, more dramatically styled cars.  A few years ago I owned a 61' Imperial which I do miss...  I have always kept an eye out for a 59' Cadillac, as it has long been one of my dream cars....
I definitely prefer older original cars, and have recently found one I am seriously considering. 

I would love to get some advice on a purchase I am considering...  It is a 1959 Sedan, I believe a series 62?  The seller never specified the model, and I am fairly new to Cadillacs so am not 100% familiar with all the identifying features of different trim levels.  The car is an older, mostly original car, around 60,000 alleged original miles.  Interior looks very good, no rips or tears.  Dash does have crack, a little worn looking.  Paint is faded, black, possible original?  The whole car is somewhat worn, but I love the patina...my goal would be to maintain and repair it as is....