News:

Reminder to CLC members, please make sure that your CLC number is stored in the relevant field in your forum profile. This is important for the upcoming change to the Forums access, More information can be found at the top of the General Discussion forum. To view or edit your profile details, click on your username, at the top of any forum page. Your username only appears when you are signed in.

Main Menu

1959 cadillac fresh 390 with tripower vacuum leak

Started by dgworks845, December 27, 2013, 10:59:37 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

dgworks845

I have a 59 caddy that ive been restoring for 10 years, ive added a tripower unit to this original 390 cid. and when I say I added it. I mean i've meticulously added the correct distributor, dash pot, rebuilt each carb. bead blasted the intake , checked for cracks...with all details right down to the new vacuum diaphram and tested the vac. switch.
     When I first start it cold it runs at the choked fast idle fine, then as it warms up she starts running rough and is clearly in trouble with vacuum because if I put my hand over the center carb it races up and runs smooth again. I've sprayed carb cleaner around trying to find where the leak is coming from but found nothing, ive replaced all vac lines including climate controls, had the booster rebuilt by professional company. This has me stumped.... at this time I cant even adjust the air mixture to the center carb or time it for that reason... Any ideas out there? Thanks for your time on this matter. signed, dwayne :-\

Jeff Wilk

Do you have the aux vac tank on the firewall that mounts above the brake booster?  Have you tested that flow valve as well?
"Impossible Only Describes The Degree Of Difficulty" 

Southern New Jersey

1959 Cadillac Fleetwood Sixty Special
1975 Eldorado Convertible (#12 made)
1933 Phaeton Chevrolet - "Baby Cadillac"
1933 Master Sedan Chevrolet - "Baby Cadillac"

SOLD
1976 Cadillac Mirage (factory authorized Pick-Up)