News:

Reminder to CLC members, please make sure that your CLC number is stored in the relevant field in your forum profile. This is important for the upcoming change to the Forums access, More information can be found at the top of the General Discussion forum. To view or edit your profile details, click on your username, at the top of any forum page. Your username only appears when you are signed in.

Main Menu

6 volt starting issues )=

Started by franek25, March 04, 2014, 04:10:05 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

franek25

Hello my name is jason hope all is well with everyone. I have run into another issue. I am new to older cars but with help from al lof you have made much progress. I have a 1937 cadillac that used to start but the craking power was always crapy at best. I found out that the battery cable should be at least 2/0 and it was only 2 gage. so jst switched that out and made a much better ground.  The issue I have is the motor still starts very slow like its tryingto get up a hill for ten seconds then finnaly starts coming down the hill but still slow. I removed all the spark plugs to see if something was stuck or binding and the starter flys around fast. I then put spark plugs back in then slow start again. I jst refurbished the carter wdo carburator and am trying to adjust it. But since the starting issue is crapy i only get about 20 seconds of craking before the battey dies agian not giving the car enough power to even start. I have a  brand new battery goes dead and wont even turn the car over at all so it goes back on the charger  for another few hours then i get two more goes at it.   been very frustrating  and a lost cause I am at a loss. car ran great before new carb . pllllleeeeeaaassseee help )=
Just a guy that loves his car even though its not perfect!

James Gray

Jason,

Me again. Just posted on your carb issue.