News:

Reminder to CLC members, please make sure that your CLC number is stored in the relevant field in your forum profile. This is important for the upcoming change to the Forums access, More information can be found at the top of the General Discussion forum. To view or edit your profile details, click on your username, at the top of any forum page. Your username only appears when you are signed in.

Main Menu

48 Cadillac wiring problem

Started by cadillac60, April 05, 2014, 06:28:00 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

cadillac60

I am far from an expert on wiring so I need some help.  I usually disconnect the battery when it sits overnight & have not had a problem.  I felt that I was going to use the car in the next few days so I left the battery hooked up this time. The battery is an Optima 6 volt & was completely dead. After a few days of slow charging it appears to be holding a charge. When I went to hook up the negative cable (ground) there was a good spark while I was putting the cable on the post. If my memory serves me right this indicates a short in the system?  If that is true how do I go about finding the short?

Bruce Watson
Bruce Watson

Steve Passmore

Could be a short but I think you would smell it. Could be something draining power, like maybe leaking down through your generator.  My son has an old Ford that has always done the same thing.  We make a point of fitting the battery breaker switches as the first thing we do to any car. I mount them on the floor below the drivers seat and knock it off whenever the car is parked up, the battery stays good all through the winter let alone overnight.
Steve

Present
1937 60 convertible coupe
1941 62 convertible coupe
1941 62 coupe

Previous
1936 70 Sport coupe
1937 85 series V12 sedan
1938 60 coupe
1938 50 coupe
1939 60S
1940 62 coupe
1941 62 convertible coupe x2
1941 61 coupe
1941 61 sedan x2
1941 62 sedan x2
1947 62 sedan
1959 62 coupe

35-709