News:

Due to a technical issue, some recently uploaded pictures have been lost. We are investigating why this happened but the issue has been resolved so that future uploads should be safe.  You can also Modify your post (MORE...) and re-upload the pictures in your post.

Main Menu

1937 cadillac 70 knocking and were is # one cylinder cant find tdc mark )=

Started by franek25, April 25, 2014, 01:08:41 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

franek25

Hello again  I  started up my car last night  and it seemed to run ok. I have not drove since I bought  it because There are no timing marks on motor so I had to turn the distributor little at a time to get it to start in the begining due to distributor being somewhat loose and not set when i bought it also due to the fact as it runs rich as all heck.

It runs very rich even though both setting screws are only a turn out one turn. I am new to all of this so I dont know how to go about making new marks and then setting timing .i do have a timing light but cant seem to find info about were the # 1 spark plug is located

Last night  started it up to try and maybe figure out a way to set the timing.  I let it warm up and pushed throttle down about 3/4 of the way and pumped a few times. Then when i went back to the motor I  heard  knocking on the drivers side of the motor never heard it before :-[ . its not really lound though very noticable and it speeds up and slows down depending on the speed of motor. its not a clatering sound more of a nock. Can someone help me with these issues i am kinda bumbed out i thought all was good and was looking forward to driving  after working on it for almost a year it now it seems like I went 2 steps forward then 5 back wonder if i will ever get her on the road  )=
Just a guy that loves his car even though its not perfect!

harvey b