News:

Reminder to CLC members, please make sure that your CLC number is stored in the relevant field in your forum profile. This is important for the upcoming change to the Forums access, More information can be found at the top of the General Discussion forum. To view or edit your profile details, click on your username, at the top of any forum page. Your username only appears when you are signed in.

Main Menu

Charging 2001 Eldorado AC?

Started by Bill Caddyshack, July 30, 2014, 11:29:08 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Bill Caddyshack

On my 2001 Eldorado, charging my ac. I am new at doing this.

My gauges should read, with ambient temperature at 85 degrees or so, should be getting about 40-45 low (suction side) and 170-180 (high side), according to the book.

Getting "Low freon AC off". So, I put the gauge on the car and get 20 on suction and about 25 on high side. I clear the codes on the OBD and the freon starts flowing in nicely.

The low gauge goes to about 70. 
The high side does not move above 25.

I think everything is hooked up right.

Low, suction, (blue hose on gauge) is the larger line that gets cold.
The High (red gauge hose) is the small line that gets hot.

Codes keep coming back with low freon and ac shuts off.

Any ideas?

Commodore

TJ Hopland

Where are the ports on that car?   Like right on the compressor?  Or is the low somewhere else?  Can you see where the pressure sensors are?  Or can't you really tell since its all so jam packed?   If the low port is not right at the compressor I would think there has to be a blockage somewhere not letting the 'low' get to the compressor.  I suppose it could be a issue with the early stages of the compressor too not letting it in.
73 Eldo convert w/FiTech EFI, over 30 years of ownership and counting
Somewhat recently deceased daily drivers, 80 Eldo Diesel & 90 CDV
And other assorted stuff I keep buying for some reason

Scot Minesinger