News:

Reminder to CLC members, please make sure that your CLC number is stored in the relevant field in your forum profile. This is important for the upcoming change to the Forums access, More information can be found at the top of the General Discussion forum. To view or edit your profile details, click on your username, at the top of any forum page. Your username only appears when you are signed in.

Main Menu

1990 Fleetwood Radio

Started by Owins, October 20, 2014, 09:08:47 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Owins

Hello everyone,

This is my first time posting here. I recently purchased a 1990 Fleetwood (Front wheel drive model, not a Brougham) and all of the power options seem to work except for the radio. I have not yet tried the cassette player, but the AM and FM bands are barely audible (I knew this was an issue when I bought the car). I'd like to keep the car as original as possible. Could this simply be a fuse or is it recommended that I buy a new radio (It would be a Delco unit correct for the car if I went this route)? Any suggestions or advice are greatly appreciated. Thank you.

mgbeda

I'm out of my familiar zone here, but I'm pretty sure those cars had a separate radio "head unit" in the dash and amplifier, maybe under the dash.  It sounds to me like that amplifier is the problem, which should be less expensive than replacing the radio.

-mB
-Mike Beda
CLC #24610
1976 Sedan DeVille (Bessie)

Eric DeVirgilis CLC# 8621

Quote from: Owins on October 20, 2014, 09:08:47 PM
Hello everyone,