News:

Due to a technical issue, some recently uploaded pictures have been lost. We are investigating why this happened but the issue has been resolved so that future uploads should be safe.  You can also Modify your post (MORE...) and re-upload the pictures in your post.

Main Menu

1960 DeVille Cardone 1117 Conversion

Started by Tahoelover2002, April 11, 2015, 06:04:21 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Tahoelover2002

Hey guys, I am currently in the process of making the conversion from a single to a dual master cylinder. I have already purchased new brake lines, a Cardone A150-1117 master cylinder (used for a 1968 Cadillac) as wheel as new hydraulic hoses and wheel cylinders. I was reading a lot of posts on people doing the same conversion as me but there was a lot of talk about proportioning valves and residual check valves. I'm a mechanic so I know what they both are and how they work. So I guess my questions are, for those who have done this conversion: Should I install a proportioning valve and is it worth it? And if I wanted to put one in anyway, just for the extra step of fine tuning the brake system, which one should I get and where do I find it? Where in the system should I install it? As for the residual check valves....where has anyone gotten them from? Any specific company that makes good ones? And finally where in the system should I install them? I looked at this page (http://www.mbmbrakeboosters.com/index.php?option=com_content&view=category&layout=blog&id=8&Itemid=16) which gives a pretty accurate description of where to put it but I wanted to hear from others who have done this and may have found a better place/way to install them. Any information would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!
James Dodd Jr.

Tahoelover2002

And also, does anyone know the outline size of this Cardone 1117 master cylinder? Mine hasn't arrived and I just wanted to make sure its the sam size as the original brake lines (1/4"). Or will I need to buy a converter? Thanks