News:

Due to a technical issue, some recently uploaded pictures have been lost. We are investigating why this happened but the issue has been resolved so that future uploads should be safe.  You can also Modify your post (MORE...) and re-upload the pictures in your post.

Main Menu

AC Issues with 1970 Sedan Deville

Started by jsnassar, June 27, 2015, 12:14:27 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

jsnassar

Hi all,

I truly enjoy the posts here.  You all have been very helpful thus far in my journey.

I am having some AC problems that are driving me crazy.  Now, I am no AC expert, but can usually figure things out.

The climate control system seems to work fine...All blowers/actuators seem to be operate.  Here is the problem:  When I start the car in the morning (or first time in the day) it blows cold  - 50/55 degrees or so.  As the engine heats up, the AC temp rises and I can't get it below 70 degrees.

I thought that the heater control valve might be stuck open - but tested it and that's not it. 

Had new AC hoses and lines installed 2 weeks ago by a pro and recharged.  The lines do begin to sweat as the temp rises.

I ordered Cadillac Tim's book but haven't received it yet. 

Any thoughts?  I am in South Louisiana and NEED AC to drive it during theses hot summer days.

Thanks in advance,

Joey

Scot Minesinger

This is a difficult one to diagnose over the internet, and I have three 1970 Cadillacs where I have restored the climate control systems, so here goes:

1.  Get the tools they are not expensive and generally the purchase of them is about the cost of one trip to the mechanic.  They are at a minimum that you can buy at e-bay, HD or auto parts store (buy good quality):

a.  Set of gauges, Robin air gauge set and hoses (if you are r12 or r134, make sure you have right connections)
b.  Shop manual and Cadillac Tim's climate control book (Google Cadillac Tim in Iva, SC) his book saves you major time.