News:

Reminder to CLC members, please make sure that your CLC number is stored in the relevant field in your forum profile. This is important for the upcoming change to the Forums access, More information can be found at the top of the General Discussion forum. To view or edit your profile details, click on your username, at the top of any forum page. Your username only appears when you are signed in.

Main Menu

Car painting question - how to mask and not have a line between old/new paint

Started by chrisntam, June 29, 2015, 11:12:24 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

chrisntam

I'm thinking about painting the inside of my trunk.  My '70 was repainted sometime in the past with basecoat/clearcoat that is currently acceptable.  They got overspray in the trunk area by where the weather strip goes (the inside lip of the trunk area).  Thinking about re-spraying that area only.

I've painted cars in the past - more than 20 years ago, so I have some experience, though I haven't done any repair or touch ups, only complete re-sprays.

Anyone know how to deal with the inevitable "edge" where the new paint under the trunk that will butt up next to the existing paint on the outside of the car?  Is it a masking issue or do I wet sand the edge and knock it down that way?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

chris.
1970 Deville Convertible 
Dallas, Texas

The Tassie Devil(le)

Can't you just mask up the rubber?   Then paper the rest of the car so no overspray gets there?

Bruce. >:D
'72 Eldorado Convertible (LHD)
'70 Ranchero Squire (RHD)
'74 Chris Craft Gull Wing (SH)
'02 VX Series II Holden Commodore SS Sedan
(Past President Modified Chapter)

Past Cars of significance - to me
1935 Ford 3 Window Coupe
1936 Ford 5 Window Coupe
1937 Chevrolet Sports Coupe
1955 Chevrolet Convertible
1959 Ford Fairlane Ranch Wagon
1960 Cadillac CDV
1972 Cadillac Eldorado Coupe

chrisntam