News:

Due to a technical issue, some recently uploaded pictures have been lost. We are investigating why this happened but the issue has been resolved so that future uploads should be safe.  You can also Modify your post (MORE...) and re-upload the pictures in your post.

Main Menu

Fluid changes

Started by Tallclover, August 06, 2015, 12:43:42 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Tallclover

I purchased a 78 Eldorado 4 years ago that had 18,000 miles on it. It was always garaged in a dry heated area and I think had some service attention and was driven occasionally.
I am unsure of what fluid change and flush should be done now and how often to change engine oil.

Coupe Deville

Hello, nice car you have there. I have a low mileage 70s Cadillac too, that was stored for many years. If your unsure when the last times the fluids were changed, I would just change everything. Engine oil and filter, transmission fluid and filter. I think the TH425 has a filter? I'm not an expert on FWD Caddy's. And change the differential gear oil too, that usually gets forgotten but is just as important. I believe its still called a differential on the 425. Also if the car has not been driven in awhile I would change the brake fluid in the master cylinder and bleed out the braking system with new fluid. Just as a safety precaution. Brake fluid is very cheap. My daily driver is a 1972 Coupe Deville with the 472ci. I change my oil and filter every 3,000 miles no matter what. I just use conventional 10w30. No synthetic. But I do ad the ZDDP zinc additive. I'm sure you'll get lots of other opinions here too.
Welcome to the forum! 

-Gavin 
-Gavin Myers CLC Member #27431
"The 59' Cadillac says more about America than a whole trunk full of history books, It was the American Dream"

TJ Hopland

What sort of plans do you have for this car?   Are you going to drive it?  If so how often and how far?