News:

Reminder to CLC members, please make sure that your CLC number is stored in the relevant field in your forum profile. This is important for the upcoming change to the Forums access, More information can be found at the top of the General Discussion forum. To view or edit your profile details, click on your username, at the top of any forum page. Your username only appears when you are signed in.

Main Menu

Bein' paranoid... ignition advance at idle. :)

Started by JVA, September 20, 2015, 01:45:25 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

JVA

I have my ignition set to 5 degrees BTDC with the vacuum advance disconnected and plugged. With the advance plugged in, advance jumps to 31 degrees. Is this normal, or is my vacuum advance canister is weak and excessively advancing timing? 31 degrees at idle seems quite, well, advanced. :)

Much thanks!

Bobby B

You need to specify the year, model, engine, etc…..
                                                                 Bobby
1947 Cadillac Series 62 Convertible Coupe
1968 Mustang Convertible
1973 Mustang Convertible
1969 Jaguar E-Type Roadster
1971 Datsun 240Z
1979 H-D FLH

Philippe M. Ruel

+1 with Bobby. Depending on brand/year/model/engine, vacuum line has to be plugged to "full vacuum" (intake manifold/carb base) or to carb "timed vacuum" plug. To both on some dual advance systems.

The former gives too much vacuum (and advance) at idle if the advance unit is supposed to be plugged to the latter.
1952 60 Special in France.

R Schroeder

My 78 is 37 BTDC at idle, with vacuum advance connected.
This is a factory setting. Again they would need to know which car you are talking about.

James Landi