News:

Reminder to CLC members, please make sure that your CLC number is stored in the relevant field in your forum profile. This is important for the upcoming change to the Forums access, More information can be found at the top of the General Discussion forum. To view or edit your profile details, click on your username, at the top of any forum page. Your username only appears when you are signed in.

Main Menu

1959 non-ac heater core removal

Started by 390 man, February 15, 2016, 01:31:15 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

390 man

After installing seat belts last week, I am now on to my next project. Last fall I noticed a coolant leak inside the car. As a temporary fix, I used a bypass hose at the water pump. As a Michigan resident I now feel the need to address the leaking heater or control valve. So far I have removed the heater inlet. From in the engine bay. Moving to the inside of the car. My Cadillac shop manual, first item remove glove box. No problem. Second item. Remove upper instrument panel cover and cluster as described in Section 12, note 51, 1 through 9. My manual does not show this. Does anyone have the information that I need to complete this task? Thank you much, Dave.

76eldo

You should not have to remove the cluster and the dash.

If you remove the cables from the links on the heater valve inside of the heater core enclosure inside of the car you do not need to remove them at the controls.

It's a difficult job and the heater control valve is a part of this puzzle too.  It's actually one of the heater hose connectors that pokes through the firewall.  It bolts to the heater core and has an O ring type seal.

Plan on sending yours out or at least have it leak tested on the new core.  You could have a good core and only need the valve.

There is an access plate you can remove to try to look inside.

We just did a 1960 with AC and that's more complicated by far.