News:

Reminder to CLC members, please make sure that your CLC number is stored in the relevant field in your forum profile. This is important for the upcoming change to the Forums access, More information can be found at the top of the General Discussion forum. To view or edit your profile details, click on your username, at the top of any forum page. Your username only appears when you are signed in.

Main Menu

1953 ignition points.

Started by gary griffin, April 18, 2016, 04:29:08 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

gary griffin

My friend is trying to start a 1953 67 series 4 door sedan. He is a mechanic by trade but nut too familiar with the older cars and is having trouble finding ignition points to start the car.  I suspect my spare points from my 1942  will work but not really sure and would appreciate the specifications for the correct points. The car is for sale in the Forum now but I could not add pictures from my phone? I would be happy to email them to anybody really interested.

garygriffin@Q.com
Gary Griffin

1940 LaSalle 5029 4 door convertible sedan
1942 Cadillac 6719 restoration almost complete?
1957 Cadillac 60-special (Needs a little TLC)
2013 Cadillac XTS daily driver

harry s

Gary, Points from '49 up to I'm not sure when are different. They are a mirror image of the '48 back. NAPA should have the ones you are looking for.    Harry
Harry Scott 4195
1941 6733
1948 6267X
2011 DTS Platinum

signart

+1 on NAPA, but take your old points with you and compare before you leave.
Art D. Woody

bullet bob

Quote from: signart on April 19, 2016, 03:25:25 PM
+1 on NAPA, but take your old points with you and compare before you leave.
Art is right. I've ordered from NAPA before. One is correct, the other is bass-ackwards. Compare.
Honda Goldwing 1800  "I don't need no stinkin' map, I've still got gas"

TJ Hopland

My 2 cents worth on points: