News:

Reminder to CLC members, please make sure that your CLC number is stored in the relevant field in your forum profile. This is important for the upcoming change to the Forums access, More information can be found at the top of the General Discussion forum. To view or edit your profile details, click on your username, at the top of any forum page. Your username only appears when you are signed in.

Main Menu

Need info on a 1947 Cadillac Flat Head V8

Started by chstitans42, May 21, 2016, 05:18:01 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

chstitans42

Here is the story. I have a lead on a nice 47 Caddy 4 door sedan for what I would consider a decent price. The catch is the motor. According to the seller, they have replaced the pistons and rings, but still have low compression on some of the cylinders, preventing the engine from starting. I have never worked on a flat head engine before so this is all new to me. If it was an over head valve V8 I would just take the heads in to get re worked but obviously this will not work. Anyone have experience with these engines? He says the engine will cough and sputter but will not start. Any one have experience in re grinding the valve seats in these engines?

Steve Passmore

There could be any number of things causing this not least very bad bores or something completely different. I have seen engines with dreadfully low compression and they still start right up.  If the engine has had valve work then that could be the problem as the valve to camshaft measurement is critical.  A valve job on these engines is not for the complete novice.  I would look to more obvious things like ignition and fuel before I start to break it down.
Steve

Present
1937 60 convertible coupe
1941 62 convertible coupe
1941 62 coupe

Previous
1936 70 Sport coupe
1937 85 series V12 sedan
1938 60 coupe
1938 50 coupe
1939 60S
1940 62 coupe
1941 62 convertible coupe x2
1941 61 coupe
1941 61 sedan x2
1941 62 sedan x2
1947 62 sedan
1959 62 coupe

Bobby B

Ben,