News:

Reminder to CLC members, please make sure that your CLC number is stored in the relevant field in your forum profile. This is important for the upcoming change to the Forums access, More information can be found at the top of the General Discussion forum. To view or edit your profile details, click on your username, at the top of any forum page. Your username only appears when you are signed in.

Main Menu

79-85 Eldorado Rear calipers with Built in E-brake pull down.

Started by Benny63, April 01, 2016, 04:35:25 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Benny63

Hello everyone.

I'm a newbie here. I have reading around many forums about issues with the 79-85 Eldorado Rear Calipers with built in E-brake. I have just purchased a set and had an issue with the left side E-brake not adjusting so I decided to make a few videos on how I fixed my problem. Hope the videos can help someone else.

https://youtu.be/fu4bACX8NKc

Happy viewing guys.

Benny.

TJ Hopland

Very well done video.  You can see all the parts and how they should work.   All the parts is the key word, there are a lot of parts in there that have to stay clean and free to do their thing which is no easy task when they live in brake fluid.   What makes things worse on these besides all the extra parts to go wrong is there are additional seals that can let fluid leak out or air and other contaminants leak in.    If you keep your fluid fresh and regularly drive the car they are not too bad but if the car does a lot of sitting everything in there gets pretty nasty and stuck.   Not using the E brake does not help, the mechanism can still get stuck and cause the brakes to drag which is the problem I see the most.