News:

Reminder to CLC members, please make sure that your CLC number is stored in the relevant field in your forum profile. This is important for the upcoming change to the Forums access, More information can be found at the top of the General Discussion forum. To view or edit your profile details, click on your username, at the top of any forum page. Your username only appears when you are signed in.

Main Menu

Strip the trim 74 fleetwood

Started by ithaca1230, November 18, 2016, 09:15:50 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

ithaca1230

So decided to start and strip the trim before we get her over to bodyshop. Can any of you give me some pointers on how to remove all of this. I have never done this before and would like to polish it all while it is off if possible. Thanks Billy

Scot Minesinger

Please buy the Fisher Body manual for 1974.  This will show how these trim strips are mounted. 

On several of this vintage that I have seen, the side body molding have sheet metal nuts on inside and so you have to get at them, which is not much of a problem for doors and rear quarter by trunk.  Not sure if you can reach them real easy on front fender.  The bottom rocker moldings are generally anchored by fasteners on bottom, then lift off.  However, I think front fender rocker moldings are more challenging.
Fairfax Station, VA  22039 (Washington DC Sub)
1970 Cadillac DeVille Convertible
1970 Cadillac Sedan DeVille
1970 four door Convertible w/Cadillac Warranty

35-709

Talk to the bodyshop guys that you are going to take the car to, I imagine they would be more than happy to give you some advice.
1935 Cadillac Sedan resto-mod "Big Red"
1973 Cadillac Caribou - Sold - but still in the family
1950 Jaguar Mark V Saloon resto-mod - Sold
1942 Cadillac 6269 - Sold
1968 Pontiac Bonneville Convertible - Sold
1950 Packard 2dr. Club Sedan
1935 Glenn Pray - Auburn Boattail Speedster, Gen. 2

RobW