News:

Due to a technical issue, some recently uploaded pictures have been lost. We are investigating why this happened but the issue has been resolved so that future uploads should be safe.  You can also Modify your post (MORE...) and re-upload the pictures in your post.

Main Menu

331 Cadillac Main Seals

Started by PeterC, November 28, 2016, 02:12:06 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

PeterC

Newbie here so apologize if this is a repeat or boring question -

Hoping I can replace front and rear main seals for my 331 CID Cadillac while in the car - assuming I can drop the pan in car ....  would this be possible? Also  - has it been concluded that a more modern seal is more effective than original rope seals or do most of you stick to the rope?

In the interest of full disclosure - the 331 sits in a 1939 Ford Coupe backed by a 1937 LaSalle Transmission

Thank you.
PeterC

Jay Friedman

Yes, you can replace the front seal in a 331 motor without removing it from the car.  The radiator must be removed first, then the crankshaft pulley, next the vibration damper and finally the timing chain cover, which holds the seal, must be removed.  Since it's in a Ford, there may be problems you would not encounter in a Cadillac, but I don't know what these might be.

And, yes, you can replace the rear main bearing seal on a 331 Cadillac engine without removing the engine from the car.  (You don't touch the transmission, either automatic or stick shift.)  It's best to use a Neoprene seal which can be purchased from Terrill Machine Co., Deleon, Texas and not a rope seal.  However, since the engine is question is in a 39 Ford and not a Cadillac, I can't tell you whether you can drop the pan with the motor in the car or not, which you can do in a Cadillac.