News:

Due to a technical issue, some recently uploaded pictures have been lost. We are investigating why this happened but the issue has been resolved so that future uploads should be safe.  You can also Modify your post (MORE...) and re-upload the pictures in your post.

Main Menu

Does anyone know what frequency the 80's garage door openers use?

Started by collector, December 17, 2016, 11:45:24 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

collector

I'm trying to figure out what frequency my 80's. Cadillac transmitter uses, so I can attach a unit to my garage door opener, like I did with my Lincoln's. Thanks

fellenzer

I'm far from an expert but I can share my experience with my '84 Seville. When I bought it, it had the original optional garage door opener installed. I discovered that version (one push button on one side and a three position switch on the other side) requires a special Cadillac receiver in the garage which connects to the hard wire button of the door opener. I've seen a couple of those receivers on eBay sell for around $50. Ultimately, rather than hassle with hooking up a Cadillac receiver, which would have cool factor, I decided to purchase a newer three button unit that fits the head unit in the car. It is programmable and is capable of using the rolling code technology of modern garage and gate openers. It doesn't have the extra chrome trim but looks just fine. I think it was $15 on eBay and simple to install. I'll dig up some pix.
Michael Fellenzer, #30007
Indianapolis, IN
1976 Eldorado Convertible
1976 Fleetwood Sixty Special Brougham (EFI, ACRS)
1976 Coupe deVille (Astro/Cabriolet)
1984 Seville
1989 Fleetwood Coupe
1989 Sedan deVille
1992 Fleetwood
1992 Coupe deVille
1992 Sedan deVille
1993 Sixty Special (Ultra)
1994 Fleetwood Brougham
2015 SRX

fellenzer

Here's before and after.
Indianapolis, IN
1984 Seville
1989 Fleetwood Coupe
1989 Sedan deVille
1992 Fleetwood
1992 Coupe deVille
1992 Sedan deVille
1994 Fleetwood Brougham
2015 SRX

collector