News:

Due to a technical issue, some recently uploaded pictures have been lost. We are investigating why this happened but the issue has been resolved so that future uploads should be safe.  You can also Modify your post (MORE...) and re-upload the pictures in your post.

Main Menu

472 Heads re-done Question

Started by JokerLimo, January 16, 2017, 05:25:03 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

JokerLimo

I have been told that my 1969 472 heads are leaking oil into the cylinders and fouling out the plugs.

I wish to have the heads "re-done". I am told by one shop $800 and on up for "complete job"    new springs ,valves,etc.. They also say they can make it so the fuels used today (without lead) will not harm there work. Do I really need all that work done to the heads or can a shop just reuse the valves , springs etc. and re-do the heads?  I'm a carpenter by trade and don't want to get ripped off or not do it right the first time. Any comments or suggestions would greatly be accepted.

35-709

If all you need are valve stem seals, they can be done with the heads in place on the engine, assuming your compression is up to snuff and you don't need a valve job.  You do not need hardened valve seats.  In my opinion you need to keep looking for another shop that will do what you need, not what they want to sell you.
1935 Cadillac Sedan resto-mod "Big Red"
1973 Cadillac Caribou - Sold - but still in the family
1950 Jaguar Mark V Saloon resto-mod - Sold
1942 Cadillac 6269 - Sold
1968 Pontiac Bonneville Convertible - Sold
1950 Packard 2dr. Club Sedan
1935 Glenn Pray - Auburn Boattail Speedster, Gen. 2

Jeff Rosansky CLC #28373

As we always say, it's not the job, it's the might as wells.....