News:

Due to a technical issue, some recently uploaded pictures have been lost. We are investigating why this happened but the issue has been resolved so that future uploads should be safe.  You can also Modify your post (MORE...) and re-upload the pictures in your post.

Main Menu

Repacking front Ball bearings

Started by Jeff Rosansky CLC #28373, July 01, 2017, 09:01:14 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Jeff Rosansky CLC #28373

Ok. I have to admit stupid here. I searched the forums. Internet, youtube, etc because I didn't want to have to post this question.
55 - how do you repack the front ball bearings?

I am not a mechanic but I certainly have repacked my share of tapered roller bearings. I can do them in my sleep-But never ball bearings. Obviously they dont hold grease like the nwwer ones. The hub was 100% full of old grease that I had to chisel out of there. Do I want that thing full of grease? I have the manual and have read about preloading them.
Sorry for the elementary question.

Just call me "Bill."
Jeff Rosansky
CLC #28373
1970 Coupe DeVille (Big Red)
1955 Series 62 (Baby Blue)
Dad's new 1979 Coupe DeVille

The Tassie Devil(le)

G'day Bill,

Packing is the same, but no need to completely fill the hub, but make sure that there is grease around it.

Centrifugal force will always force the grease to the outer areas.

Bruce. >:D
'72 Eldorado Convertible (LHD)
'70 Ranchero Squire (RHD)
'74 Chris Craft Gull Wing (SH)
'02 VX Series II Holden Commodore SS Sedan
(Past President Modified Chapter)

Past Cars of significance - to me
1935 Ford 3 Window Coupe
1936 Ford 5 Window Coupe
1937 Chevrolet Sports Coupe
1955 Chevrolet Convertible
1959 Ford Fairlane Ranch Wagon
1960 Cadillac CDV
1972 Cadillac Eldorado Coupe

Bobby B

Quote from: The Tassie Devil(le) on July 01, 2017, 10:17:28 PM
Packing is the same, but no need to completely fill the hub, but make sure that there is grease around it.
Centrifugal force will always force the grease to the outer areas.